Lisa Milberg – Lead and backing vocals, keyboards
Dante Kinnunen – Drums, percussion
Per Nyström – Organ, keyboards, glockenspiel
Daniel Värjö – Electric guitar
Martin Hansson – Bass
Maria Eriksson – Backing vocals
Ulrik Janusson – Keyboards, glockenspiel
Ludvig Rylander – Keyboards, flute, sax, backing vocals

"What happened to The Concretes?", people asked. Not a single new song in three years from a band that had been as reliable as a Swiss watch.

Time passed and even the band started to wonder, “What ever did happen to The Concretes?” After all, the band had practically become synonymous with 'Swedish Indie Pop", having released three albums (The Concretes, In Colour, and Hey Trouble) to international acclaim. Well, of course, there was a lot going on. Life, cycling, cooking, gardening, travel, children. And other side projects. Eclectic side projects. One member of the band even joined the circus.

Then, slowly, new songs began to appear. On a cold, crystal Christmas day last year, when everyone was in Stockholm for a drink, they wondered aloud, “Is it time to begin again? Afresh? Refreshed? Can we make an album?” and, after several more drinks, all eight Concretes stood up, raised their glasses and in unison declared: “YES WE CAN”.

But what songs should they make? Disco, someone said. Yes, Yes. They all agreed. A disco album! And that is what they did. Well, maybe not disco in the old euphoric seventies way, but in a Concretes way: dreamy and beautiful, but with a pulsing, hypnotic backbeat that is a new and welcome addition to the band's signature sound. It's disco that exists somewhere in the space between smiles and tears. Disco dreaming of being elsewhere.

With less guitar, more keyboards, more bass, deep languorous vinyl grooves, twitching percussion and some good old cowbell – but still with those trademark melodies – the band is finally back with a new album WYWH, a new label (Brooklyn-based tastemakers Friendly Fire Recordings), a new singer (Lisa Milberg, though not new to the band, has stepped out from behind the drums to take over vocals for the band after the departure of Victoria Bergsman), and a new lease on life. Anew. Renewed. Improved.

Release Date: July 19, 2011

$0.89 Digi TOPSPIN

Puutarhatrilogia Cover
Release Date: Nov 9, 2010

» Good Evening
» All Day
» All Day (Juuso Pikanen remix)

$10.00 CD
$7.99 Digi TOPSPIN
Click for Hi-Res Images

All Day
All Day
Crack In The Paint
Crack In The Paint
My Ways width=
My Ways

No shows currently planned.